Your Most Valuable Resource: Time

18 Nov

Wow – I sure made it far into my 30-day challenge before dropping off the face of the Earth.  I supposed I just might not be cut out for organized blogging… but the (way too) early break did come due a life challenge.  So, I guess it is fitting to blog while I get myself back on track?

Day 3 is titled “Time Squared, Spending Your Most Valuable Resource”.  Quite ironic that I’ve now had essentially a week to mull this one over, as all I have had is time on my hands.  Attempting to hide my bitterness by not blogging has failed miserably, so why not just talk this one out.

The book talked about a simple equation – one I’m sure we have all heard ad nauseam: Increased Energy + Increased Engagement = Sense of More Time.  (Quality over Quantity).  It went on to speak about how 6 months could pass by in our lives quickly or painfully slowly – and encourages us to ponder what would make the difference in each of our lives.  What would it take for each of us to become fully engaged in our own lives, so that time is well spent, instead of us being paralyzed in fear of the future.  It is all in the way we invest our time – in ourselves, and in those around us…

Over the course of the last week, my disease has taken control of my life.  Its headstrong, controlling personality jumped right into the happy little life I was starting to create and began to splatter mud all over my almost perfectly clean canvas of a new start.  It has in essence stripped me on my independence (temporarily) and replaced my lightheartedness with a cabinet full of medication.  There is not much quality time going on, unless you call curling up with the dog in bed with a constant stream of Netflix movies and TV shows engaging.  Dammit!  Though, I do have to give a huge shout out to my best friend who has done an amazing job of keeping my spirits up – which included basically taken on a renovation project in my house for me.

With this down time, I have to admit that I have pondered what the truly sick people do when they only have 30-days left to live?  They spend their time in hospitals slipping away – they don’t spend their time making amends, and thinking about their most valuable resources, figuring out how to re-create themselves into the image they always had imagined.  They ride our their last wave trying to stay comfortable, not standing up to their biggest fears.  There it is – the huge flaw with this book – and I hate it, the title of the book.  Terrible.

But, in the spirit of having more than 30-days left to live, I suppose I will attempt to stay the course of the challenge… As much as I don’t want to continue based on the sole fact that the premise of this book is a simple marketing gimmick…   But I am thankful that I do have (God willing He doesn’t have alternative plans for me soon) more than 30-days left in me.   I have the time, or I will as soon as this attack is over, to stand firm on my own two feet and live the life I had always imagined.  Here is to getting back on track.

The book did make a great point… “Time once spent can never be reclaimed.”  Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

