Living the Dash – My 30-day challenge, beyond the list.

7 Nov

Alright, I’m just going to throw it out there.  As nice as it is to see my friends post what they are thankful for everyday throughout the month of November, I don’t think I fully understand it.  At the end of the month you have a list of things you are thankful for – but then what?  Do you look at your life diffidently, have you made a difference in how you approach your life?  Maybe that isn’t the purpose – or maybe some of you find hope, peace or a sense of happiness by building this list.  Don’t get me wrong – I see nothing wrong with having a concise list of what you are thankful for, but I just don’t think this will work for me.  

This November/December I am finally going to face the challenge put out there by Kerry & Chris Shook via their book, One Month to Live: Thirty Days to a No-Regrets Life.  Below are a few experts from the book that will bring you up to speed.  I am unsure of what the challenge will bring – but I plan on blogging my way through it.  If anyone is up for coming along with me for the challenge, please let me know.  Discussion is welcomed.

“Why can’t all of us live more like we’re dying? Isn’t that how we were meant to live in the first place?  To discover what we’ve made for and to utilize our unique gifts in the limited time we’re given?…. If we all lived as if we had one month left on this earth, we would spend our days differently, in ways unique to us, and yet I believe we would all experience more fulfilling lives that could leave a legacy for eternity.”

“Lives are reduced to two dates and one little dash… It comes down to what’s in the dash.  What did he life for?  Whom did she love?  What were his passions?  What were her biggest mistakes and greatest regrets?… Are you living the dash, knowing fully who are are and why you’re here? Or are you dashing to live, hurriedly spending precious time chasing things that don’t matter to you?”

“You don’t have to wait for a crisis to consider how you can experiences life to the fullest.”

I am looking forward to the journey that is about to unfold before me – welcome to my ride.

2 Responses to “Living the Dash – My 30-day challenge, beyond the list.”

  1. Sara Wells November 25, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    Living in the Dash – it’s something my church small group talked about when we went through this book together. I think I might still have a DVD that came with my book that has some really good interviews with people who took the challenge. I’ll dig for it. I think you’d like it.

Leave a Reply

