Crohn’s Disease – The ever nagging reality…

9 Nov

I’m going to put it out there.  Crohn’s Disease blows.. and more than the fact I can NEVER remember how to spell the damn thing…

After 8 years, I can say I’m now sufficiently used to full-out running to the bathroom, pulling over on the side of the road due to pain, consistent lack of energy, always picking up a cold or flu or worse, and the first name basis with my GI doctor and surgeon.   I’ve lost friendships and relationships over my illness – that too I am used to.  (Hey, it isn’t my fault that I legitimately have to cancel plans and can go weeks or more without leaving my house, but not everyone understands.)  I’ve had employers treat me poorly if I call out of work or go home early or have an emergency DR’s appointment.  Never being able to ride a bike again due to surgery, etc.  That is all expected with it… But I never expected to walk away from being a first time home owner because of it…

During my home inspection this weekend, the inspector found black mold in the master bathroom.  Now, this would not necessarily be a deal breaker to the “normal” person.  Sure, no one wants to live with it (and shouldn’t), but the “normal” person really could have had it remediated and moved on.  Not me.  I ended up physically ill from it.  It is hard to tell if it was the environmental pressures in the house or just the sheer anxiety and stress felt by the situation, but I left the house wheezing and spent the greater part of the evening laying on my bathroom floor…

Now truth be told, the house had a LOT more wrong with it than just the mold.  I was prepared to spend the time and money fixing the house and slowly finding the diamond in the ruff, but the mold really scared me.  And for the first time in my life, I actually listened to my disease.  It just isn’t a smart gamble for a Crohn’s patient to buy a home with a mold issues.  The contract on the short sale has officially been canceled.  I’ve said goodbye to my plans for the house.

Honestly, I’m OK with that. But I am really not OK with the fact that this disease continues to control every aspect of my life.

3 Responses to “Crohn’s Disease – The ever nagging reality…”

  1. Jenny C November 9, 2011 at 1:47 PM #

    Sorry it didn’t work out 😦 I’m sure you’ll find another house, with a better deal!

  2. A Guy With Crohn's December 10, 2012 at 10:39 PM #

    Sorry your having a tough time. I believe in Karma though and if this house wasn’t for you….that just means a better one is out there waiting. Your time as a homeowner will come.

    • findinglitz December 10, 2012 at 10:46 PM #

      Thank you for the support – I have quickly become addicted to your blog, well done, sir! Karma has delivered, and in a way I never thought possible. This past April, I closed on a brand new 2-level condo that I was able to build myself! Well I got to choose all the finishings/colors/options 🙂

Leave a Reply

