Delinquent Deadlines and Goals Achieved

7 Nov

November 15th, 2010 – This was the start of my “new life”.  After interviewing for nearly 2 full years, I shyly (yes, I can actually be shy) found myself in yet another elevator.  To the 6th floor of my new office.  I had done it, I was finally moving up in the IT Security industry and couldn’t have been happier.  On that day, I made a deal with myself.  To capitalize on this phenomenal job offer and finally get myself out of debt.  I announced to friends and family that I was thereby giving myself one, yes just one, calendar year to pay it all off…

A lot happened leading up to that day that I’m not exactly proud of… but I did have my reasons for all of it.  I was so blessed to graduate from college debt free, but I didn’t truly know what that meant.  After moving away from all friends and family, I found myself wanting to keep up with the Jones’s, and good God did I have fun doing it.  Next came heartache and break-ups and a LOT of retail therapy coupled by the “need” to make my 4 white rented walls feel like home.  I had the greatest clothes, shoes, purses, bought a car, and the right stuff to fill my ridiculously high-priced apartments.  I had it all… and my credit cards were perpetually smoking… But I never missed a payment.  Credit companies LOVED me – and continued to proactively raise my credit limits.  (Seriously, who thought that was a good idea..) Eventually I fell in love and trusted too much – taking a low-paying job for a better quality of life, which I couldn’t afford.  Let’s just say that was a long year of barley (and sometimes not even) making ends meet… For the first time in my life, I missed payments and stopped answering my cell phone as 9 out of 10 calls were creditors..

That proud day as I placed my finger on the biometrics scanner to obtain my first real security badge, that dark cloud of debt loomed heavily over my head.

It has been a VERY long year – joined by added financial obligations, but  here I am, almost a year to the day.. and the good new is… I SHOULD be COMPLETELY debt free before Christmas! 🙂 I think I’ll only be 2 weeks delinquent on my deadline… but dammit… I have just about done it!

P.S. Retail therapy… I love you WAY too much to separate from or divorce you… I promise to open a separate account just for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

