How my life has changed…

30 Jan

 

U.S. Marines board a U.S. Air Force C-17 Globemaster III cargo aircraft flight from Camp Manas, Kyrgyzstan, to Camp Leatherneck, Afghanistan, March 24, 2010. The Marines, assigned to the 1st Marine Division's Headquarters Battalion, are deploying to Afghanistan to support the International Security Assistance Force. U.S. Marine Corps photo by Lance Cpl. Sarah B. Novotny

 

 

I wasn’t sure where to start this “new” blog, and then I found this picture.  It hit home.  So it only makes sense to just jump right into it.  No rhyme or reason to the organization of my thoughts other than “that’s life”…

I am at a point in my life where when I cannot sleep, I turn to my trusted Mac to learn as much as I can about the United States Marine Corps and how to support my Marine before, during and after his upcoming deployment.  I was recently on business to the West Coast – and I have yet to adjust back to Eastern Time – so my nightly research has now begun to go into the wee hours…

However, I somehow stumbled upon a photo taken March 24th, 2010.  To some of you Marines out there, you understand the significance of this date.  To everyone else, this picture shows West Coast Marines en route to Camp Leatherneck in Afghanistan in March 2010.  This was the start of their deployment last year.  Their year is almost over – and I am beyond elated for those men and women and their wives/husbands/children/girlfriends/boyfriends/families.  But my heart just races at this picture for other reasons.

I will be saying goodbye to my Marine as these exact Marines come home – vicious cycle.  All of those emotions aside… we can talk about those later… this picture leaves me with such a sense of pride.  I am so damn proud of my Marine – and his fellow Marines.  Oorah!

Paddy, if you find your way to this blog, remember this one – in the midst of the emotion – I am proud of you!

Leave a Reply

